Making dietary changes

I’ve gone on dozens of diets and made a variety of dietary changes in my lifetime. I can say with confidence that every diet I went on was utterly and completely ineffective, and if we’re measuring dietary changes by the same standard as diets, then those have been equally as ineffective. Because, hello, I’m still fat. Still, I feel much happier with the results of my dietary changes than my diets.
I think in America especially, the idea that anyone would change their diet for any reason besides weight loss is completely foreign. All the time you hear people say they are making a dietary change to “get healthy”, but that is universally translated as lose weight, because, duh, fat people can’t be healthy (eye roll). So by those standards, my dietary changes have done nothing. But still, I am happy with them.
My first true dietary change happened in high school, when I gave up land meat (otherwise known as going pescatarian). While that one didn’t stick more than a couple of years, it still resulted in some positive changes in my diet that led me down the road to making other dietary changes, such as adopting a more slow diet, adopting a more whole foods diet, eating more plant based foods, and being more conscious of where my animal products come from.
In the last few months, I have been transitioning to a more paleo/primal diet. I have found I just feel so much better when I avoid grains and legumes. And 99% of the time, I don’t miss them either. I don’t feel deprived or hungry, my food tastes awesome and it’s far more satisfying to me now. When I eat grains now, I don’t know what it does to me, but I am hungrier after a meal with grains than I am after a meal without. And then I have gas and usually feel a little hung over the next day. Don’t even get me started on what beans do to me, sheesh.
I don’t think I’ll ever be 100% paleo, if only because I don’t think it’s healthy or polite to isolate yourself from the social sphere with your dietary choices, but luckily you don’t have to be 100% perfect 100% of the time to reap health benefits from eating healthier. So if I want a slice of carrot cake or a microbrew on my birthday, I’m going to have one and I’m going to feel good about it. And the next day I’ll just drink extra water to nurse my grain hangover away, and go back to my normal grain free way of eating. It’s sort of a Health At Every Size approach to paleo. And I’m super happy with it.
I do think this dietary change will be sticking though, because I just feel so much better. I’m sleeping better, I’m biking better, I feel like my moods are more stable, and my energy levels are way better. Also, the hemorrhoids I developed during pregnancy are way better, and that alone is worth it. So expect to be seeing more paleo recipes and talk in the future of this blog, which is hopefully a more active future than what it has been for the first year of Freja’s life.
Also, expect some changes at this blog in general. I’m looking to take it in a new, more professional direction.

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Health and Diet and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

