Labor Soup (or Balsamic Black Bean Soup)

20120802-185450.jpg

Today I’m going to share with you all my recipe for Balsamic Black Bean Soup, the soup I intend to serve and eat during labor. Normally, I make this soup using beef broth, but today’s version is fully vegan, since one of my midwives is a vegetarian.

Ingredients
6 cups black beans (I buy dried black beans and then soak them over night)
8 cups water
4 cubes Not Beef Broth (or a beef bouillon)
2 onions
4 tomatoes
2 red bell peppers
3 garlic cloves
1 medium zucchini
Cumin
Chili powder
Balsamic vinegar

Put your beans, water, and bouillon in a large pot on the stove or in a crock pot (I went with the crock pot) and turn it on a medium heat (stove) or high heat (crock pot). This is going to be simmering all day.
Chop up your veggies however you see fit. I wouldn’t worry about dicing them fine, because we’re going to blend this soup in the end. Toss them all in.
Add as much cumin and chili powder as you would like. You can always add more later.
Let simmer until beans are soft, at least a few hours. (I actually had mine simmering in the crock pot over night, almost 24 hours)
Add balsamic vinegar to taste.
Blend soup in blender to reach desired consistency.

I like to serve this soup with a sprinkling of cheese and a dollop of plain Greek yogurt or sour cream!

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Labor and Delivery, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

