38 Weeks

20120730-084641.jpg

This morning I wake up with nothing to do but wait for baby. Okay, maybe I don’t exactly have nothing to do. I have a massage appointment at a local massage school this afternoon. There’s plenty of cleaning to do around my house (it’s awful, seriously) and I would like to organize baby’s stuff into the dresser we painted for it. I also would like to get some canning done before baby comes, and make some more soup and muffins for after the birth. And of course I would like to get all of my birth kit supplies in one place so that they are easily accessed during the birth. But all of these things seem to only exacerbate the waiting process. It’s not the same as having school, doula training, clients, and social obligations that tend to distract me from the fact that I am weeks, perhaps only days, from my life as I know it changing forever in ways I cannot possibly predict. Now all I have to do is prepare for that unfathomable future as best as I can, and wait, wait, wait.

And waiting is what I’m doing. It’s driving me crazy with anxiety! I’m not used to having so much free time. I don’t know what to do with myself. It’s got me thinking that the whole nesting thing is bunk. People don’t really get some unexplainable urge to clean before the birth, they just need to do something to keep from going crazy with all the waiting! Which probably explains why I never really got a nesting urge with Elijah, I worked up until a few days before I had him, and only stopped working because my sister was in town and I preferred to do activities with her and my mom. You have to keep busy at the end somehow, or you’ll go nuts!

So today I’ll do some kitchen cleaning, some grocery shopping, and go get a massage. Tomorrow I’ll pick up our bedroom and can peaches with my mother in law. And every day after that I’ll clean one room and cook something. What’s on the menu?

Vegetarian Black Bean Balsamic Soup
Zucchini Cranberry Muffins
Tortilla Soup
Banana Flax Muffins
Loaded Potato Soup
Strawberry Muffins
Black Bean Chili
Blueberry Chia Muffins (more of them)
French Onion Soup
Black Beans and Rice
Coconut Curry Chicken Soup
White Bean, Barley, and Sausage Stew

You think it will be 12 days before I go into labor? Maybe I should do more than one food at once. That way, if I run out of foods to make before baby comes, I can always scour allrecipes.com for new ideas. I also have to clean my car and install my new carseat. We’ll need to get a second base for Jeremy’s car, i have a few things to sew, and we need to finish Elijah’s room redecorating. Look at me go! I’m filling up my free time already!

Prepare to see recipes for my post partum foods, and feel free to wait, wait, wait with me. If it doesn’t drive you crazy too!

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Labor and Delivery, Pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

