35 weeks

RAIN!!!

We’re back from our trip to Florida and it’s been raining in Colorado! This has done wonders to help control the wildfires that have been burning across the state, and given us all a break from the smokey skies and oppressive heat we had been experiencing (two things we also got a break from in Florida).

Our trip to Florida was lovely. It has been over a decade since I spent that much time with my dad and my younger siblings, and it was nice to finally get some time with them all.

My dad rented us a condo right on the beach and just a few blocks from the broadwalk (similar to a boardwalk, with no boards) in Hollywood Beach. We spent most of the vacation lounging around in the condo or on the beach. Elijah loved, loved, loved the ocean, and riding on the trolley (which he pronounced “cholly”). Jeremy and I were able to take a romantic bike ride one evening on the broadwalk. My dad made some awesome ceviche, and his girlfriend made us a Vietnamese feast that was to die for! And despite our disciplined sunblock application habits, Jeremy got a wicked sunburn that is peeling now. Ha ha!

Here are some pictures from the trip.

Elijah gets his first view of the ocean with my father.

Jeremy and Elijah swimming in the Atlantic.

The sand castle Jeremy built with the kids.

Probably the best photo I’ve ever taken of Jeremy.

At 35 weeks pregnant, I’m still fitting into my pre pregnancy swimsuit. It makes me wonder if it was a good fit before I was pregnant.

Playing with sparklers!

My father took Elijah fishing.

So what’s new with the pregnancy?

On Friday (the day we left for the trip) baby dropped.  I wasn’t sure at first but by Saturday the increased pressure, waddling, and need to pee every time I stood up confirmed it.  I don’t remember feeling anything like this when I was pregnant with Elijah.  When people mentioned the baby dropping, I’d say “Yeah, I think it’s happened, I don’t know.”

I am in that uncomfortable stage, most definitely.  Its hard to breathe, its hard to walk, its hard to sleep, I’m cranky, sore, and tired.  I figure pregnancy gets this uncomfortable towards the end so you look forward to labor.  Its worth going through that 12 or so hours of pain to be done with this.

Still, I am in no hurry to get the baby out.  There is so much I want to do before it comes still!  I feel so busy!!  And I’m terrified this baby is going to come before the due date.  If it can just hang in there until August, please! I’d really prefer it wait until the due date, but at least August.  The intensity of my practice contractions have frightened me a few times, but nothing has ever been regular, so I can’t even call it prodromal labor.  Maybe my fears of early birth just spring from my worry that I’m not going to get everything done I want to get done.

And what all is that?  Maternity photos, cooking some meals ahead of time, a bit of sewing and painting, a little bit of canning, and, oh yeah, the rest of my summer semester!

I have a feeling I’m going to be sacrificing some stuff.

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

