32 weeks

Well, it seems my hip injury was not so bad after all. I have been off crutches for several days and besides some soreness and some discomfort in certain positions, I think I am doing fine. I’ve been taking it easy this week, driving instead of biking to school, and skipping yoga and after dinner walks. Next week I will probably see about getting back on the bike.

Baby seems to be moving quite a bit more than in previous weeks. It’s movements have been fairly gentle and pleasant. I have heard of babies kicking so hard or in such ways that they cause their mother a lot of pain, but I’ve never experienced that in either pregnancy. Elijah did used to do this thing that felt like he was scratching my cervix, which was uncomfortable, but that’s about it. This baby hasn’t even done that.

I am getting to a point where the pregnancy is getting a little uncomfortable. I’m waddling (which might be more to do with whatever is wrong with my hips than the pregnancy, who knows), having trouble breathing, and struggling a little more to sleep. But I’m still not feeling any rush to be done with this pregnancy. In fact, I don’t think the reality of this pregnancy has even sunk in yet. In about 8 weeks, I’m going to have a baby. In my bedroom.  Wow.

We also have a few names, but we aren’t sharing.  I can’t say for sure they will be it anyhow.  I don’t want to rush into naming another baby.

Have I ever expressed on this blog how Elijah’s name happened, and my regrets over it?  I had the hardest time picking a baby name!  Naming babies is hard.  When I was a little girl, and even a teenager, I would think about baby names and it seemed so simple, but when I really had to do it, it was much more stressful.  Nothing seemed right.  In retrospect, I think the main issue is that it’s hard to name someone you haven’t really met yet (at least, that’s my issue), but I didn’t know that then.  I became so frustrated with the process that I decided if it were a girl, I would simply name it after my mother.  It was a meaningful name that I didn’t have to put any thought into.  So that was one name settled.  But a boys name still elluded me.  I knew I wanted a Hebrew name, partly because I like Hebrew names for boys (girls, on the other hand, got the short end of the stick in the Bible if you ask me, all their names are boring or totally suck), and partly because the biologic father turned out to be an anti semite, and I figured it would piss him off.  I had a short list of names I was semi considering, Jonas, Jonah, and Elijah topped it.  But nothing felt right.  I was not settled on a name even as we were driving to the hospital.  I think I was just hoping it was a girl.  But when he came out, and my mother said “Jessica, it’s a little boy!” I just picked the first name that came to my head of the list.  Elijah.  Weeks later, I thought of several boys names I would have preferred (Indiana, Platte, and if I had wanted to stick to the Hebrew theme, Ezra), but by then it was too late.

I’m not doing that again.  I’m not declaring an official name for this baby until I’ve known it for at least a few hours.  If it fits the names we have semi picked now, I will declare them, but if not, we’ll go back to the drawing board and figure something else out.  No more baby name remorse.

I will get a picture up later today.  I’d like to actually post this blog, since I’m behind (I’m actually 33 weeks as of today – I think).

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 32 weeks

  1. curvyelvie says:

    I agree with a name is such an important thong to choose. Best of luck to you in this happy time in your life.

Leave a Reply

