Sneaky veggie sloppy joes

I sneak veggies into my family. It’s what I have to do. It stretches the meat further and makes us all healthier, so that’s how I roll. Whenever I find myself in possession of a purple cabbage, I always make sloppy joes. It’s a good way to hide cabbage. Here’s my process.

Ingredients

  • Half a head of purple cabbage
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 can tomato paste
  • 2-3 large tomatoes
  • 1 purple onion
  • Beef bouillon
  • Oil to sautee in
  • Mustard
  • Chili powder
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • Braggs liquid aminos (or soy sauce)
  • Seasoning blend (such as Mrs. Dash)
  • Sugar

First, chop up your cabbage as fine as you can. I use a Slap Chop esque tool (mine came from Pampered Chef, and not from an infomercial)

Then I dice up onions (I used a knife for this) and sautéed them up in a pan. You can use any oil to do this in, but I had some bacon grease lying around, so I did it in that.

Once the onions are soft and sautéed to your liking, toss in the cabbage and saute it until it’s soft and to your liking.

While that’s sautéing up, dice up your tomatoes. I bought a bunch of tomatoes in bulk last summer and froze them. Frozen tomatoes work great for this kind of meal.

When the cabbage is cooked, throw in your ground beef and cook it all together!

Now toss in your diced tomatoes and tomato paste!!

At this point, I add in some beef bouillon so that I can beef up the flavor a little and hide the cabbage flavor more. 1 to 2 teaspoons should do you.

Now stir it all up and start seasoning. I add paprika, mild chili powder, mustard, Worcestershire sauce, Braggs Liquid Aminos, and sugar. Those of you who have followed my recipes know I do all this stuff by taste, so experiment to see what tastes good to you.

The meal as it was served to Elijah (who doesn’t like bread)

The meal as it was served to me and Jeremy

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

