25 weeks

Our freakishly mild winter has been followed by a freakishly warm spring, which has really opened my eyes to the fact that I am likely going to go through the third trimester of my pregnancy during the hottest summer in human history. I’ve got to stop driving so much! I’ve got to start eating less meat! I wish I could promise that I’m not going to use the AC (like I manage to avoid every other year), but I can’t. I promise I’ll use it as little as possible though.
Thinking of ways to try and stay cool now is a necessity. We are purchasing a kiddie pool to use as our birth pool, and I expect that will be a center piece in my heat management plan. All I need to do is set it up in the back yard with a big umbrella up to shade it, right? And then I need a constant supply of virgin piña coladas.
Other than that, though, I’m kind of at al loss. If we had money coming out our asses, I’d insist we buy heat reducing shades or curtains for all of our south facing windows (which is, ahem, all of them, except for two), but we don’t. I’ll have to research ways to block heat from windows that can be accomplished with junk around the house, or at least cheap supplies from a hardware store. We do not have money for fancy blinds or time for growing large deciduous trees all over the back side of our home.
I can feel this pregnancy making it’s transition into the third trimester. My belly feels stretched most of the time, sometimes I think I feel it actually in the process of growing. I’m getting my Braxton hicks pretty commonly, and it’s getting harder to move swiftly. I can no longer make it through a whole night without getting up to pee at least once, even when I’m poorly hydrated, which happens far less frequently now because I’m thirsty all the time. Which is fine, I’d rather stay well hydrated, because it keeps the swelling down and my skin looking pretty. It also lowers my risk of developing kidney stones, which, with as much calcium carbonate I’m downing in heartburn tablets (even papaya enzyme has calcium carbonate in it), I really need to be on top of preventing.
All in all, this pregnancy seems to be moving more swiftly than my pregnancy with Elijah did. Not that I’m going to have this baby sooner (my money is on the 13th, actually, which is our wedding anniversary and four days past the due date), but just that I’ve experienced every mile marker sooner this time around. Started showing sooner, felt baby sooner, started peeing frequently sooner, started making colostrum sooner, started having noticeable Braxton Hicks sooner, etc.
There have been a few things that have been decidedly easier this time around though, things that have not reared their ugly heads yet in this pregnancy that already had in my first. For example, the swelling. At this point in my pregnancy with Elijah I already had full time cankles and had pulled sausage feet out of my combat boots at the end of the day many, many times. This time the only swelling I’ve had has been very slight finger swelling, not enough to be noticeable with the eye, but enough to make my wedding rings too tight to wear. And it’s not every day. I think it’s because I’m staying more active and eating a healthier diet. My diet’s not perfect, but it’s definitely better than what it was last pregnancy. I know it’s not totally the hydration thing, because I drank a lot of water last pregnancy too. Of course, I’m not wearing combat boots every day this time around, and last time I spent most of my second trimester going through summer (as opposed to late winter and spring with this one) so that might be making a difference too. But I also spent most of my second trimester last time around eating in an Army chow hall, or eating out. Can we say chemical sodium, hydrogenated oil, sugar fest?
It’s the last week of school before finals, and I’m stressing hard core. I just want this semester done. Next semester I only have one class on campus, I can hardly wait. And in between semesters I have three whole weeks with no responsibilities. Besides that of motherhood, my home, doula work, and being a responsible citizen, that is. I’m going to clean my car and hang out with friends.
So at 25 weeks baby is 13 inches long and weighs about a pound and a half. But I’m sure my baby is bigger, because we have big babies in our family. I am craving fruit, and not sleeping as well as I’d like, but that’s probably less the pregnancy and more stress. Here I am, self shot, at 25 weeks!

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

