Before social networking sites

It’s sometimes hard for me to imagine, but there was once a time when I kept in touch with friends and family without social networking sites. In fact, there was once a time that I did it without the Internet at all, or text messages, for that matter. I am aware that to some readers this will make me sound like a dinosaur, but I swear, I’m only 28. And while that might seem young to have grown up without regular access to AOL Instant Messenger, I might point out that we weren’t the wealthiest kids on the block and didn’t always have a computer or Internet connection.
So once, not really so long ago, I had a social life that didn’t involve social networking. And, as I recall, it was much more active than my current social life. I don’t know if it’s fair to say that social networking has single handedly destroyed my social life, but I can say that for me, it has made me more content with a virtual social life, one in which I don’t have to leave my home or interact with society at large or just my personal little community, and that likely has done a fair chunk of damage to my social life.
I also remember in that time before social networking sites that I expressed myself creatively far more than I do now. In fact, my blog is about the closest thing to creative expression I have left in my life (unless you count changing the lyrics to songs to make them about Elijah as creative), and that is nothing compared to the poetry and works of fiction I used to dream up and scribble down before I was too busy posting all the details of my rather mundane life as status updates. Not to mention posting articles, photos, responses to other people’s posts, and all that other crap that can easily suck away your drive to do much of anything else.
Lately, Facebook has been nothing but a source of annoyance and hurt feelings for me. It either stands as a distraction from the real world I can ill afford, a pathway into my private life for people and concepts that provoke negative reactions in me, or a painful reminder that most of the people I know just really don’t give a shit what’s happening with me. So I have decided to take a break from social networking for a while, how long I can’t say, but I’ve deleted the app from my phone which pretty much guarantees that I won’t be logging on for a while. I’ll let you all know how it goes.

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Before social networking sites

  1. jeff says:

    Agreed. The only reason I use Facebook is photo sharing. I did however after much protest join twitter, not to post or follow Ashton kutcher, but to have twitter people (they are my virtual servants) do my searching for cool/interesting articles and news for me!

Leave a Reply

