Teaching Taste

One of the things I’m most proud of as a parent is Elijah’s taste in music. It seems like a silly thing to take pride in but as a parent of a stubborn, individualistic, child, you’ve got to take what you can get. And I am very proud that my son seems to be developing an eclectic taste for rock music.
Sure, it means I listen to less audio books now, but it’s worth it to me when I see him do his little dances to Rock Lobster and Crazy Train. I love that he announces when he likes a song as I’m surfing through radio stations. I think it’s adorable how he runs around the house singing Highway to Hell. Do I share all his taste exactly? No. He’s acquired Jeremy’s love of metal and that sort of music isn’t exactly my bag, and his obsession with Weird Al is really only reasonable for a child, but he also knows every word to every Mumford and Sons song that comes on the radio, and talks to me about the lyrics of Belle and Sebastian songs. I love the variety he appreciates, the fact that his taste seems to be growing in a well rounded manner. I like to think I’ve influenced that.
The other day, while driving in the car, The Cave came on the radio and he said to me that it would be cool if we could go to the music store and meet these guys. I just about died of cute overdose. He thinks bands hang out at music stores! Awww! But in truth I’m amazed that he hears two songs and can recognize by the style or the singers voice or something that the same artist created each song. Wow! That seems impressive for a four year old (but what do I know?).
I dream of him growing up to be a rock star (one that doesn’t have addiction problems or sleeps around a bunch, of course). I dream of him composing symphonies. I dream of him playing the guitar at family reunions, whatever. I’m just really proud of his music taste.
I don’t know if I can really take credit for it, and I have to admit that it might not last. He might be into bubblegum pop or gangster rap when he gets older. But for now, nothing makes me feel like the worlds coolest and best mom like hearing my son sing Throw It On The Ground at the playground.
Now if only we could work on his taste in movies.

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Babies and Kids and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Teaching Taste

  1. Deanna says:

    I was always proud that you girls had a love for music that covered the gamut. I too thought it was because of me, so I will side with you on that argument.

Leave a Reply

