What’s up in 2010?

So, my little sister did this post on her blog, and I kind of like it.  As the year draws to a close, and today we celebrate the return of light after the Solstice last night, I’m going to give you a list of what happened this year.

  • I started back to school at Metropolitan State College of Denver, changing my major to Integrative Therapeutic Practices (which basically means alternative health care).  I started out thinking I’d minor in women’s studies, but have decided instead to go the pre health care route.
  • I fell in love (this probably actually happened last year, but hey, I fall in love a little more every day!).
  • I celebrated a one year anniversary with a boyfriend, something I’ve only done once before, and I was in Basic Training when it happened, and I broke up with him when I got home from Basic Training, so does it even really count?
  • I completed my last drill for the Colorado Army National Guard in January, and received my honorable discharge paperwork in early December.  The discharge is effective Jan 8, 2011.
  • Elijah learned to pee pee on the potty, and he’s almost got going poo poo on the potty down.
  • I formed a new circle of friends, comprised mostly of moms, and surprise!  They actually hang out with me, invite me to stuff, and come to the stuff I invite them to!
  • I also got in touch with some old friends from childhood and it was really cool to hang out with them again and see Safa get married.
  • I became vice president of Single Mothers To Be!
  • I attended three births this year (not that many, but what are you going to do?) and have one more lined up, but she might not go into labor until next year.  I completed all my certification births, but did so past the two year deadline, so now I have to see what comes next.  Do I have to start all over?
  • I had a moderately successful garden, and learned a lot to make next year even better.
  • I started keeping bees!  In my back yard!  How cool is that?
  • I turned 27, which somehow makes me feel a lot older than turning 26 did.
  • I ran a half marathon.  Bummed I didn’t make the full marathon, but I promise I’ll do a full one some day.  13.1 miles isn’t so bad.  I’d like to maybe do another half next year.
  • I got engaged.
  • Elijah turned 3!
  • I saw 127 Hours, and it was AMAZING!!!!!!  But you have to understand that I’ve been a huge Aron Ralston fan for years.
  • I lost about 20 lbs, which really isn’t that impressive when you take into account the fact that I gained 15 last December.
  • I joined a club at school for leaders in social justice.  Awesome.
  • I became a chapter leader of our local Holistic Moms Network chapter.
  • I got a lot of reading done.  Finished almost all of the Kingsolver books.  Books that had the biggest impact on me this year include The Jungle, by Upton Sinclair, The Lacuna, by Barbara Kingsolver and Small Wonder, by Barbara Kingsolver
  • Don’t Ask Don’t Tell was repealed!  Okay, I didn’t do this (though I did make a lot of phone calls, wrote a lot of letters, and signed a lot of petitions), but I am so, so happy this discriminatory policy has been overturned.  It makes me proud to be a veteran.  Well, even more so.  Congrats to all my gay and lesbian battle buddies out there!
About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in For Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s up in 2010?

  1. missiworld says:

    Woo! Your year sounds like it was totally exciting and something in which to be super proud. Hey, it’s not every year that you get engaged! : )

Leave a Reply

