Soy

Is soy safe to feed your baby? Read this article and decide for yourself.

When I got pregnant, I avoided soy.  I had heard that soy was potentially bad for boys, given that there is so much estrogen in it, and I didn’t know if I was having a boy or a girl, so I avoided it.

When I had a boy, I avoided giving him soy.  I, on the other hand, started learning about vegetarianism and veganism, and started experimenting with replacing animal products in my diet with soy.

I felt horrible.  There were a lot of things that probably contributed to how lousy I felt during the first year of my sons life, but looking back, I think soy played a significant role.

I have, in the time since my experimentations with a semi vegan lifestyle, learned some disturbing things about soy.  I would now recommend that everyone avoid soy products, especially non organic soy, which is extremely likely to be made from genetically modified soy beans (which carry their own health risks).  If nothing else, pregnant women should avoid soy, and children (male or female) should never be given soy.  Infants should never, ever be given soy formula.

Here is an article on soy that reviews several studies on the safety vs. risks of soy and busts some of the myths we believe about soy.

Whole Soy Story:  The Dark Side of America’s Favorite Health Food

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Babies and Kids, Health and Diet, nursing, Pregnancy, Single Mom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Soy

  1. missiworld says:

    Thanks for posting. As a vegetarian, this is pretty necessary for me. Good thing I’ve curbed my soy intake to one serving per day–which is mostly in my soy milk.

  2. jessimonster says:

    Yeah, my friend just pointed that out to me. I’m fixing it.
    You might want to look into other vegetarian sources of protein, have you tried quinoa? And of the legumes, branch out from just beans and peanuts. I love lentils. Plenty of raw vegans get all their protein from seeds and nuts as well.

  3. Vesta Sue says:

    Hypospadias is more likely from all the estrogen disruptors in the cosmetics & personal care items you inundate yourself with regularly…not organic soy. Chemicals from cosmetics & personal care items now equal that of pharmaceuticals in our waterways….see http://www.safecosmetics.org .
    Of course anything can happen if you drink 5 gallons of anything a day! I don’t believe this article 100%. Sounds like a dairy industry/formula corporate set-up. Atleast GMO’s were mentioned which helps me to credit some of it a bit more. See http://www.seedsofdeception.com . Of course everyone reacts differently to many things, I don’t think there is enough estrogen in a glass of soy a day that’s going to deform my child-to-be. And by the way, hypospadias is correctable although a more and more common thing seen these days because the chemcals we are surrounded with. Nonetheless, you are safer drinking organic soy milk than much of the water our corporations-that-are-now-considered-people have polluted & left us with. Drink distilled & reverse osmosis. Plastic/Bisphenols also cause Hypospadias, BTW.

  4. jessimonster says:

    I am well aware of the endocrine disruptors in plastics and personal care products. You can find information about all of that on my blog too. Check out my blog on Products to Avoid if You Are Pregnant or Around Children, or how to cheaply and safely replace dangerous lotions. I plan on running an entire series on how to cheaply and safely replace dangerous personal care products. There are also already links to The Cosmetic Safety Database and Seeds of Deception on many posts on my blog, as well as links to the Organic Consumer Association, which also has some great info on GMOs.
    Obviously, you are not familiar with Mothering Magazine. You probably do not have children yet. Mothering Magazine, the publication that put out this article on soy, is not involved with the dairy industry (if they were, it would be the raw dairy industry, which isn’t much of an industry at all) or any industry for that matter. It is a publication that is dedicated to the principals of natural living, attachment parenting, natural birth, and sustainability. It is the Mother Earth News of parenting publications. They are one of the few publications I know of that always directly site scientific studies, and not just a few of them, usually dozens. They sited a very long list of scientific studies in this article too.
    I don’t think a glass of organic soy milk a day is going to hurt you either, and I don’t think this article implies that. I think the major concern of this article is soy formula. The amount of formula a bottle fed baby ingests is the equivalent of an adult drinking five gallons of something a day. In fact, its probably more than that. And keep in mind, this is the ONLY thing that baby is consuming. Furthermore, formula cans are lined in plastics containing BPA, which only exacerbates the problem. Mothering Magazine is a very strong advocate for breast feeding exclusively (in fact, they are very active in the campaigns to limit advertising of formula – either dairy or soy – and to ban the bags given out in hospital birth wards, which are provided by formula companies and are usually filled with formula samples which have been shown in studies to very often disrupt the nursing relationship), but in this article they are just pointing out that if you really must bottle feed, its probably better to go with an organic dairy formula.
    Also, it addresses the issue that many of the forms of soy we eat today are novel forms of the food, and therefore might be prudent to avoid. People have been eating tofu for centuries, yes, but textured vegetable protein, soy isoflavonoids and other such wonders of modern chemistry, are relatively new on the scene, and probably should be viewed with some caution. I am sure that you, like most of the forward thinking world, apply the same point of view to novel products made of other otherwise safe foods, like high fructose corn syrup. Unfortunately, the average American is consuming more of these novel soy products than they can even imagine. Vegetarians are doing it even worse. Although there are literally dozens of other sources of protein for vegetarians, many of which could arguably be considered far superior, the vast majority of vegetarians rely mainly on highly processed, novel forms of soy such as replacement meats. Personally, I think these products deserve some caution.
    Michael Pollan addressed this same issue in his book In Defense of Food. I believe he touched on it An Omnivore’s Dilemma as well. Pollan presents some great evidence that it is probably healthier to stick with whole foods, rather than highly processed ones. You would probably enjoy both of these books, I highly recommend them.
    I think its hard to argue that most soy products on the market aren’t highly processed, and personally, I think it is the highly processed nature of these foods that is more dangerous than the soy beans themselves.
    Thank you for your comment and for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

