Birthday Wishes

Here are my birthday wishes for today, my 26th birthday.

  • I wish everyone in this country had access to top quality health care.  Health care that includes as many holistic options as conventional ones.
  • I wish single mothers got paid as much as married mothers.  I wish mothers got paid as much as single women.  And I wish all women got paid as much as men.
  • I wish parents who abandoned their children would be held accountable for their actions, and that conservative talking heads would stop spouting cruelty about the parents who actually do stick around.
  • I wish every consenting adult is able to make a legal commitment binding them in love to any other consenting adult.
  • I wish the government would stop subsidizing junk food.
  • I wish the whole world would go see Food Inc. and The Business of Being Born.
  • I wish you would become a fan of Rock Your Birth Doula Services on Facebook.
  • I wish all single moms, and especially all single pregnant women, would read Mari Gallion’s book, The Single Woman’s Guide to a Happy Pregnancy.
  • I wish that President Obama would actually do something worth getting the Republicans this angry.
  • I wish people would start voting for third parties.
  • I wish world governments would take the 350 goals seriously.
  • I wish Whole Foods hadn’t bought out Wild Oats, and Wild Oats hadn’t bought out Alfalfa’s.
  • I wish Placebo hadn’t cancelled their American tour.
  • I wish this country and culture would make ease of breast feeding for all women a top priority.
  • I wish the United States had a maternity leave policy like Canada does.  One year off at 60% of your pay, plus one optional year off, unpaid.
  • I wish mothering were recognized as the full time job that it is.
  • I wish men would stop lying about how tall they are.
  • I wish companies built consumer goods to last, instead of to break, become obsolete, or go out of style within a year or two (or less!).
  • I wish we’d get serious about alternative fuel and energy resources.
  • I wish CAFOs would go away.
  • I wish we would crack down on companies who hire illegal immigrants, instead of cracking down on the illegal immigrants individually.  Companies who hire illegal immigrants usually do it so that they can commit grievous human rights violations without fear of penalty.
  • I wish we focused more on Fair Trade and less on NAFTA.
  • I wish all chemicals had to be tested for safety before they are put on the market in consumer goods.
  • I wish drug companies weren’t allowed to advertise to the general public.
  • I wish there were an ocean in Colorado, and also a place where avocados, bananas and citrus fruit would grow, then I would have no problem going to an entirely local diet.
  • I wish I could speed read.
  • I wish that I will be able to send Elijah to schools that don’t focus on standardized tests, especially not in Kindergarten.  On that note, I wish every parent in America would read Crisis in the Kindergarten.
  • I wish I was a size 10 again.
  • I wish my mouse would stop doing the weird stuff its doing.

Now I’m going to go make some potato soup for my birthday meal.  Yum.

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Alternative Energy, Babies and Kids, For Fun, Health and Diet, Labor and Delivery, Living Green, News, nursing, Politics, Single Mom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday Wishes

  1. krissee says:

    Happy Birthday! I’ll be hoping for all your birthday wishes too.

  2. We are a bunch of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with helpful information to paintings on. You have performed an impressive activity and our entire group might be thankful to you.

Leave a Reply

