My first week as a stay at home mom

Today marks the end of my first week of unemployment, or, as I prefer to think of it, my first week as a stay at home mom.  Its different than I thought it would be.  I really need to get into the swing of things.

I was going to go to the zoo with a friend of mine today, but I am just exhausted, I’m hoping we can reschedule for next Friday.  I don’t know why I should be so tired, considering I’ve been home all week … except for all the running to meet potential doula clients and go to job fairs and get groceries and drop a disc off at Buckley I forgot to leave there and waiting on hold with unemployment for literally four hours.  Ugh.  I just want one day to do nothing.  Is that so much to ask?

But I probably won’t do nothing. I’ll probably pick up around the house, maybe vacuum, maybe mop, maybe scrub a few toilets.  And I really need to take my giant zucchinis and make some zucchini bread.  And I’d like to peel Elijah away from the TV long enough to go for a walk to the bank, and I have laundry to do, and dinner to plan, and …

How did this stuff ever get done when I was working?  Actually, judging by the size of the laundry pile I’ve been working through, it didn’t.  And we didn’t eat many home cooked meals, and we rarely ate before 7 pm, because that’s how long it took us to get home from work and get the kitchen cleaned enough to cook in and then make dinner.  Ugh.

So, although I already knew all this, I feel that this week has allowed me to really appreciate this article I found today, Parenting … a Radical, Political Act.  I thought you guys might enjoy this.

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Babies and Kids, Living Green, Mommy Multitasking, Politics, Single Mom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My first week as a stay at home mom

  1. I’m Jennifer Broadley and I would like to share some dynamic information and support on how to be a winning single parent, with strong, respectful relationships with your children and a comfortable, working relationship with your ex-partner.

Leave a Reply

