Eating placenta?

I read this article about eating your placenta and I thought I’d share it here.  What do you guys think?  The article makes the point that its just a peice of meat.  Okay, sure, just a peice of meat.

BUT IT’S HUMAN MEAT!!

I just can’t get around that. 

I know lots of people from other cultures do it, but its just not for me, thanks.

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Babies and Kids, For Fun, Health and Diet, Labor and Delivery, Pregnancy, Recycling, Saving Money and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Eating placenta?

  1. take5 says:

    I just read the article.. and I’m not quite sure how to feel about it.. :S It’s pretty gross in a way, but I think that it’s definitely true that most of us are grossed out because we don’t know about it.
    Who would have thought that people do eat their own placenta? I wasn’t aware that it would even look or taste anything like meat!!

  2. jessimonster says:

    You know, I had a friend who got pregnant a few years ago, and I joked with her about finding her a placenta recipe. I knew people of other cultures eat them all the time, but it does seem gross to us. Kind of like eating blood or bugs. We’re the only culture that doesn’t do it, but there is pretty good nutritional value to them.

  3. lisa says:

    I totally see the nutritional/hormonal post-birth benefits of it; it makes complete sense how mother nature provides for everything pre-, during and post-birth for the mother (and baby), but I just can’t get over how gross it seems. I am a vegetarian so I already have a weak stomach over eating things that were once ‘live’ and have a certain texture–that placenta seems like it would be rubbery and a weird texture but who knows..I’m sure you can make it taste like whatever ingredients you pair with it—I live the fact that it could help with post-partum and bleeding but I just don’t think i could stomach it, personally, much less watch someone prep and eat it themselves. I seriously think i would barf…sadly.

  4. uh gross!! i didnt actually know it can be eaten! eew
    Its just a good to know

    Kim

  5. faerylandmom says:

    I didn’t read the article yet, but I’ve seen a really interesting presentation on encapsulating your own placenta and taking it that way. After the presentation, I decided that if I had known about it when I was pregnant, I would have gone for it!

    The benefits are truly amazing.

    (I just saw your blog address on the Colorado Doulas yahoo group. )

    My “doula” blog is birthinjoy.wordpress.com. Clicking on my name will take you to my personal blog. 🙂

  6. faerylandmom says:

    I found the link to the company who did the presentation on placenta encapsulation. I would “eat” mine this way: http://placentabenefits.info/about.asp

Leave a Reply

