Elijah has weaned

Well, Elijah has officially weaned.

I have mixed feelings about this.  On the one hand, I loved our nursing relationship.  I’m sure that he loved our nursing relationship.  And I guess I really wanted to be one of those European-eque mothers who really extended breastfeeding.

On the other hand, he’s sleeping through the night now and my appetite has been cut in half.

The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends breastfeeding exclusively for the first six months (which I was unable to do when I returned to work), and to continue breastfeeding in conjunction with solids for at least a year, and as long after as is mutually desired.  The World Health organization recommends the same, except that breastfeeding should continue in conjunction with solids for at least two years.  World wide, most babies wean between ages 2 and 3, or so I am told.  In America, most babies wean at 3 months.

Elijah and I made it 15 months.  Not bad, I suppose.  Great, by American standards.  And even though I had to supplement with formula when I went back to work when he was 10 weeks old, I think I still did pretty good keeping the nursing up.  I have no regrets (except for how soon I fed him solids, he now appears to have an egg allergy – I don’t know if its related, but doctors say the number one reason to delay solids for six months is to decrease chances of babies developing food allergies, and there are no food allergies in my family), but sometimes, I do miss our special cuddle time.

Here’s how we did it.

I went to Arkansas for two weeks for some good, old fashioned, Army training.  Elijah stayed home with my mom.  When I got back, he asked to nurse, so I tried, but it hurt and I got a sore on my nipple (just like the first time he nursed!  Why, oh why won’t he latch on correctly?), and he was frustrated because there wasn’t any milk there.  And that was it.  He asked a couple more times, but I instead offered him his sippy cup or a bottle, and now he doesn’t even ask anymore.

He and I still cuddle a lot.   We still show each other a lot of affection.  We’re still cosleeping (although that might slowly come to a halt in the coming months as well, since he’s sleeping better and better at night).  We just don’t nurse anymore.

What’s your weaning story?

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Babies and Kids, nursing, Single Mom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Elijah has weaned

  1. katy says:

    Since I had to be back in school 3 weeks after my daughter was born, I didn’t ever really breast feed so I don’t have a weaning story.

    My daughter is almost 10 now. I will let you know when I have successfully ended the cosleeping thing.

    She has her own bed. There are nights I force her to sleep in it, but given the choice she still sleeps with me.

  2. Nina says:

    don’t have one yet. he’s 18 months. I went back to work when he was – well he was in the NICU so a few days after he was born until he got out I was ft. then pt for a month. he co-sleeps too. I keep thinking i should try and in all honestly he weaned himself from everything else – paci – bottle – never had a wubby type thing…its hard to do when working ft only because I think the guilt is making me keep it going. and he’s sweet and cuddly…

Leave a Reply

