The end of civilization as we know it

So my holistic moms group has been all atwitter (is atwitter one word or two? atwitter? a twitter?) about this speech given by Dmitry Orlov February 13, 2009, at Cowell Theatre in Fort Mason Center, San Francisco, to an audience of 550 people, called Social Collapse Best Practices or (as the Organic Consumers Association titled it) Getting Prepared for the Great Collapse.  I thought I’d share it with you.

What do you think of this?  Do you think its possible?  Or, more accurately, do you think it’s likely?  What if something like this does happen?  What will you and your family do?

Personally, there is a part of me (the part that likes action movies) that actually looks forward to this possible future.  But then theres a part of me (the part that gets sad when faceless, nameless characters in action movies die) that hates the idea of the senseless violence mentioned here.  Could I be a squatter, if need be?  Yes.  Could I claim a peice of ignored land to set up a community farm?  Yes.  Could I run an establishment like the health clinic mentioned in this speech?  Oh certainly yes (I’ve begun looking into midwifery training, by the way).  Could I have a donkey.  Yeah, that would be cool.  But could I hire a mentally unstable former cop or Soldier to commit violent acts on my behalf to intimidate people who get in my way?  I’m not down with that.

What do you think?  And what are you doing to protect yourself in this economy?

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Babies and Kids, Biking, Community, Gardening, News, Politics, Single Mom, War and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

