Does a good economy buy happiness?

Apparently not.  But a suddenly bad economy sure seems to cause unhappiness.

Personally speaking, I don’t really see the big deal.  My take on the “suddenly” bad economy?  Welcome to the world I’ve been living in since mid 2001.  I don’t think the economy ever improved between the 2001 recession and this one.  I think people just tried to pretend like those of us hurting didn’t exist, until the problems that were hurting us spread and got too big to ignore anymore.

I’m not an expert, but thats what it looks like from where I’m sitting.

Not that it matters, because as the chart in the link above shows, a big GDP doesn’t equal a happy society.

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in For Fun, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Does a good economy buy happiness?

  1. katy says:

    I was having a similar conversation with my sister this weekend. She is a lawyer who is married with no kids. So her income and life situation is a lot different than mine. I was complaining about my piddly tax refund. How it went from being alomst $600 to less than $200 when I put in how much my tax rebate check was. How is it a rebate when they clearly took some of this money out of my refund?

    That got us to talking about the new tax cut. the $13 extra we will all be getting in our pay checks. She couldn’t understand who $13 would make a difference to anyone. No matter how much I instisted that it would make a difference to me.

    I save $5 a week. I know, to my sister who puts $500 of every pack check into a high gross savings acount my $20 a month is nothing, but you know what? That’s all I can save without starving to death and the truth is, I have had to dipp into that savings account on a number of occations. In fact, right now, I have less than $30 in that account.

    So will I agree with what you are saying. There are people who can’t fathom carring about $13 extra. Then there are the rest of us. It is really just another way the gap between the rich and poor has grown so wide in our society. The rich can’t even imiagine a world where $13 can make a difference.

  2. Kelly says:

    I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say “Hello!” and that I will surely be back to read more of your updates. I am now married (just as of Dec’08) but did the whole single mom thing for years. I commend your efforts to provide a truly high-quality life for your son 🙂

Leave a Reply

