No Christmas Gifts This Year

In my effort to have a greener, less consumerist Christmas, I am scaling back on presents.  I’m not eliminating presents, but I’m scaling back quite a bit.  I mentioned my digital cook book idea (its a Word document with a collection of recipes in it, Breakfast, Appetizers, Entrees, Desserts, etc) which I’ll be emailing out to friends near and far as a free but thoughtful gift.  But maybe I want to do a little something more for them?  Maybe I want to give a gift of experience.

Enter No Christmas Gifts This Year, an e-card service that gives you the opportunity to give a friend or loved one a gift of experience of their choosing, for free.  The recipient gets the ecard and chooses from a variety of activites listed in the card.  What they choose is what you’re obligated to give them for a present.  Activites listed include “Learn a new skill”, “Play at the park” and “Cook a meal”.

I think I’ll be adding this to my gift arsenal this year.

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Community, For Fun, Living Green, Saving Money, Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No Christmas Gifts This Year

  1. Katy says:

    What a cool idea!

    I give “experiance gifts” to my sisters and parents, so I think this website would be a cool thing to send to them.

    For everyone else, I just donate to their favorite charity (or my favorite if they don’t have one)

  2. Allie says:

    I love it! That’s a great idea.

  3. the best gift you can give to someone you love is your “presence” as I discuss in my blog http://nosmokeandmirrors.wordpress.com/2009/12/24/merry-christmas-give-the-gift-of-presence-this-year/

    Mark Allen Roberts

Leave a Reply

