My ambitious Christmas goal

I, like No Impact Man, consider buying used to be the superior green shopping choice over buying organic or something like that. He and I think so (as if we sat down together to come to this conclusion) because a) buying an unwanted item keeps it out of the landfill, b) buying an already made item keeps resources from being used to produce new items, c) buying used items greatly reduces or eliminates all pollution production, emissions, and energy usage associated with manufacturing and shipping new products, and d) buying used contributes directly to your local economy (unless you’re buying over a long distance through ebay or something, in which case you’re contributing directly to another local economy) by putting money in the pocket of one of your community members or a local non profit organization. Buying used is an even better green option for single moms, because it also happens to be the cheapest green shopping option.

In order to green my holiday season as much as possible, and also to save money for more important things (like paying down debt), I am going to attempt to do all my Christmas shopping in the following locations (in order of preference)

  • Freecycle
  • Craigslist
  • Thrift stores (Goodwill, Arc, Savers, The KGNU second hand shop, etc.)
  • The Flea Market
  • Higher end second hand and antique stores
  • Local craft shows/stores
  • Etsy
  • Ebay
  • Local organic product stores
  • Online organic product stores

Okay, craft shows and Etsy isn’t used, but handmade is a good thing too. I put Ebay under Etsy because half the crap on Ebay is new anyhow, and I don’t want to have to ship things. I did put places to buy new, organic stuff on the list, but I highly doubt I’ll use them. In fact, I intend to stick primarily to my first two options on the list.

Thats right. I’m going to try and do all my Christmas shopping on Freecycle and Craigslist. If this turns out to be a success, I am going to make this a holiday tradition.

I should add, however, that there are two over all stores I might have to make a stop or two at to make my Christmas shopping goal really work. The craft store (stops there should be fairly minimal, I’m pretty sure I have all the craft supplies I could possibly need) and the grocery store (stops there will be somewhat more frequent, I do love to bake during the holidays).

I will keep you guys posted.

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Community, Green up Purchaces You Already Make, Living Green, Recycling, Saving Money, Shopping, Single Mom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My ambitious Christmas goal

  1. Meg Appleby says:

    Great Christmas shopping goal!! Looking forward to your updates!!

    Its so hard not to buy in (if you’ll pardon the pun) to the advertising message that the more you spend on Christmas gifts the more it shows you love the other person . . . or just the general message that Christmas is all about spending money – rather than spending time!!

    I personally think that shopping for gifts with a set budget, making your own gifts, or shopping for ethical/sustainable/recycled gifts (or all of the above) shows that you have really put thought into what you end up giving each person. Its easy to go into a shop and wave your credit card around and come out with a few gifts. But what you are doing requires real thought and creativity. And what gift could show people you love them more than that?

  2. terrorfirma says:

    That’s a great idea! I’ll have to go by Goodwill with an eye towards Christmas presents. I’m thinking about printing and framing some of my photos to give as presents. I bet Goodwill will have plenty of reasonable frames.

  3. jessimonster says:

    Oh yeah, I’m a huge fan of Goodwill frames! I’m looking at two Goodwill frames right now, as a matter of fact. I need to make a frame run sometime here soon too. We just got new pictures of Elijah done, and I want to look at them all day while I’m at work.

Leave a Reply

