Making Thanksgiving more meaningful

I used to hate Thanksgiving.  To me, it was a time when the whole family got together, all the women would slave in the kitchen all day and get irritable, all the kids would get yelled at all day, and all the men would watch football.

Somehow, as I’ve gotten older, my perception of the holiday has changed.  I love Thanksgiving now.  The shift happened when I was about 17 years old.  My whole extended family no longer gets together.  These days its just me, my mom, Elijah and my sister and niece, if they make it out from Missouri.  Although I miss the large gathering (not so much the sexism of who cooks and cleans, but I do miss the rest of it), I do like the opportunity to forge new traditions and to re focus on the true meaning of Thanksgiving. 

With that in mind, I read this wonderful article on MindfulMama.com about Thanksgiving I thought I would share with you.  As Elijah grows, I would like to incorporate all of this into our holiday tradition.  What are your Thanksgiving traditions?

Also, here is an articlefrom The Green Parent that talks about greening Thanksgiving traditions.  It has some good ideas in there, if you can incorporate them.

Hopefully one day I will get married and have lots more babies (not very green, I know, but I love babies so much!) and then I will have my big family Thanksgiving again.

And for the record, I do have one uncle who helped out in the kitchen quite a bit.  He actually kicks a lot of ass in the kitchen.  I think he missed his calling.  He should have been a celebrity chef.

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Babies and Kids, Community, For Fun, Living Green, Single Mom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

