Confessions of a Christmas dork

I love Christmas time.

Actually, I’m just in love with life starting the beginning of October, which is the build up to Halloween, which I feel is the kickoff party to the best time of the year, the holiday season!

I love Halloween!  I love Thanksgiving!  And I love Christmas!

Part of loving the Holiday season is loving the thing about Christmas that most people loathe … Christmas music!  Oh my god, I love Christmas music.  I used to have a rule that I couldn’t listen to Christmas music until Thanksgiving day, but I have found that its just not enough to satisfy my LUST for Christmas music, so this year I changed my rule to no Christmas music until the day after Halloween.

I used to have the worlds biggest collection of Christmas music downloaded (illegally, cough cough, erm) on my computer, and I was happy as a clam during the Holiday season.  Unfortunately, all of that (illegally) downloaded music led to a (MASSIVE) virus on my computer, and I lost everything!  Lesson learned (I suppose its not exactly in the holiday spirit to go around stealing Christmas music anyhow) and now I buy CDs.  Also, there is a radio station here in Denver that plays continuous Christmas music, and I can get down with that (even though most of what they play is the “classic” and “soft rock” variety, and I really love the more alternative and rock varieties).

There’s been a lot of talk in my Holistic Moms Group about how to simplify Christmas.  We all pretty much agree that we’d like more traditional, family focused, less consumerist holiday seasons.  I want these things for Elijah.  I want him to feel, like I do, that Christmas is about much more than gifts.  But I’m not ready to give up gifts entirely.  I like gifts.  I actually like shopping for Christmas gifts (its the only time of the year I enjoy shopping, in fact).  I could give up wrapping paper – in fact, I wish we would, but my mom loves it – and I can certainly get down with less gifts, but I can’t part with them entirely.

This year, Elijah is going to get pretty much just stuff I would have to buy him anyhow.  New clothes, new bath products, and a few new toys and books (because toys and books are good for growing babies).  Because his birthday is so close to Christmas (bummer!) I’ll be spreading his need gifts out.  I’m just doing one gift for my mom from Elijah and one gift from me.  Actually, I can’t make that promise either.  She might get a few from each of us.  But its not going to be a ton.

I want to focus on doing more holiday activities.  I’m thinking about signing up for the Turkey Trot and the Jingle Bell walk, two holiday 5ks.   Also, we like seeing the lights at the Botanic Garden, and this year the Botanic Garden is also doing a lighted nature walk down at Chatfield Reservoir we want to check out.  I might take Elijah to Zoo Lights at the Denver Zoo too.  There’s a candle light walk in downtown Golden on the 5th I think I want to go to, and my mom and I like to go up for the Georgetown festival.  I think getting out and participating in stuff like this also contributes to my goal of getting more deeply immersed in my local community.

I hope to craft more gifts this year too.  I’m working on making a digital cookbook for my friends (its just a Word document, shhhhh), and I found a number of really cool crafts on Make Baby Stuff that I’m wanting to try out.  What I do buy, I hope to buy green.  Here is a cool article with some great green gift ideas!

What do you do for the holidays?  How do you make things simpler and greener?  What’s your stance on presents?  Any fun activities you’re doing?  Do you know of any in Denver that I’m missing?  Let me know!

Oh, and whats your favorite Christmas song/music/album?  Let me, the Christmas music expert, recommend a few.

Maybe This Christmas

Maybe This Christmas Too

Maybe This Christmas Tree

Sufjan Stevens’ Christmas Album

A Santa Cause

Any of the Very Special Christmas Albums

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Babies and Kids, Community, Crafting, For Fun, Green up Purchaces You Already Make, Living Green, Saving Money, Shopping, Single Mom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Confessions of a Christmas dork

  1. cheaplikeme says:

    Zoo lights is fun … and I already have KOSI on my pre-sets for the season. Ho ho ho!

  2. jessimonster says:

    Ha ha! I keep KOSI programmed in all year for the Christmas music too. Even though the DJs on KOSI bug the bageezus out of me. Except that Delilah, she cracks me up. I’m laughing AT her, not WITH her.
    Is that the correct spelling on bageezus? The world may never know. I’m working on swearing less, since Elijah’s going to be learning lots of words here soon.

  3. Jenny says:

    I thought your readers would appreciate this green gift
    TickleMe Plant – It Moves
    A great green low cost gift that will make everyone smile is to grow a TickleMe Plant and watch it MOVE when Tickled! The leave quickly fold and even the branches droop when Tickled. I found this to be a great stress reliever in my office and what a conversation piece!. You may have seen the TickleMe Plant in the botanical gardens or on the premier of CSI NY. Now it can be grown indoors year round.
    No green thumb needed. I found it on line at http://www.ticklemeplant.com

Leave a Reply

