Thanks

When I started this blog I was so excited about it, then it seemed like I got distracted and I haven’t been writing.  I am going to try to be more active here.

Thanks for everyone’s sympathies for my uncles death.  I will blog about it sometime, but I don’t feel ready to do that just yet.

So whats new?

I’m at a new job, did I say?  I’m still working full time for the Guard, but its in a new office with a new job (an admin job) and I am very happy with it.  I have health benefits!

Speaking of which, Elijah and I have been on the hunt for a new doctor.  We were searching for a holistic doctor and found two which accept our insurance.  The first one, a woman in Conifer, was really awesome, but I had to come to terms with the fact that Conifer will be quite a drive when I have a sick baby in the winter.  So I went with a male doctor (normally I will choose a female over a male, mainly because sometimes, men really freak me out – yes, I know I have issues) who is closer, and I was very happy with his treatment of Elijah yesterday.  Elijah has a viral infection in his throat.

My sister came out for my uncles funeral last week.  Overall, I think it was a good visit.  We didn’t fight at all, although we both got a little snickety at each other a time or two.  My sister and I couldn’t be more different.  Besides the fact that I am a single mom and she technically has a boyfriend and a husband (its taking a long time for the divorce to be finalized), I am all about the attatchment parenting, eco friendly living, and natural child birth, while she is all about conventional American parenting, cheap and effortless living, and drugged, drugged, drugged childbirth (phew! she took everything they had to give!).  Not that either of us are right or wrong, but when you get the two of us together, we sure feel like one of us is right and the other is wrong. 

In other news, I have decided to try and make the final transition from flexitarian to vegetarian.  I haven’t come out of the closet to my family yet, though.  My last meat consumption was shrimp on Saturday morning.  Sheesh.  I feel like an alcoholic at an AA meeting.  Anyway, my mom reads this blog so this might be how she finds out.  I just can’t justify eating meat anymore, not when so many people in this world are starving, and knowing they could be fed if Americans just didn’t eat any hamburgers.  Also, I had to take my cat to the vet last week, and I started thinking about other pets I had lost, and if, supposing there is a heaven, I would see them in heaven, and if my cats have souls and go to heaven, wouldn’t cows and chickens and fish have souls?  Do they all have souls?  If they have souls, is it right to eat them?  My cat doesn’t seem to care if the squirrels in my back yard have souls or not, why should I?   But my cats aren’t logical creatures.  Oh the dilema! 

Plus, its just better for you.

I also went to see a personal trainer yesterday.  I think I went to high school with her.  I learned that I am in better shape than I thought.  In fact, I’m in pretty good shape for someone so overweight.  Its all the walking I do.  And all the fat I eat.  The two factors combine to create a fit fattie.

I say I eat a lot of fat, because I’ve been keeping track at Fitday and on average, about 30% of my calories come from fat.  Isn’t it supposed to be only 15%?  The solution, as I see it, is not to reduce the amount of fat I eat (because it tastes good!) but to increase the amount of fatless calories I eat.  That makes the percentage go down.  So I need to be eating a butt ton more veggies.

I will keep everyone posted on my diet and personal trainer successes and failures.  I will also keep you all up to date on my adventures into vegetarianism.

(for the record, I do not let my cats kill squirrels in our back yard)

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Babies and Kids, Health and Diet, Living Green, Single Mom, Walking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanks

  1. Mya says:

    Good Luck with making that final jump into meatless territory! I myself am still a flexitarian but meat is becoming less appetizing to me lately. If you’re interested in some meatless recipe ideas you should check out http://www.meatlessmonday.com. I work for this campaign and we advocate going meatless one day a week since that can greatly reduce your risk of heart disease among other preventable diseases.

  2. Andrew says:

    Great post, To keep my ecological foot print low I like to eat local as much as possible. I intern with the Eat Well Guide, and we’ve teamed up with Consumers Union (publisher of Consumer Reports) to issue the Local, Organic Thanksgiving Challenge this year. Will you join us? And share a recipe? Read more on the Green Fork http://www.blog.eatwellguide.org/2008/11/take-the-local-organic-thanksgiving-challenge

Leave a Reply

