Book Review: Skinny Bitch

On Monday I bought the book Skinny Bitch, by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin.  I had heard it might help encourage me in my goal of eating less meat.  Actually, I heard it made many a woman decide to go vegetarian in the name of being thin.  Since I knew I’d never go vegetarian (again … there were a few years in high school there), I figured it would just give me more motivation to cut meat out of my diet as much as I can.

I have not eaten any meat since I bought it.  I’ve also eaten limited amounts of dairy (some cheese and sour cream on last nights dinner, and a minuscule bit of cheese in some veggie patties today).  I still don’t think I’m going to go entirely vegetarian – its damn near impossible to avoid meat in my family and my line of work – and I’m certainly not going to ever reach vegan status, but it has convinced me to cut the amount of meat and dairy I’m eating even more than I had already planned to. 

The authors state very clearly on the cover that this is a no-nonsense, tough-love guide, and its not kidding around.  It sounds like a drill sergeant wrote this at points, so if you don’t like to be yelled at, this book is not for you.  I can go 50/50 with the yelling thing.  Sometimes I respond really well to it.  Other times I don’t.  I don’t know what the difference is, but I responded well to this book.

The authors also obviously have an agenda that has nothing to do with helping you to get thin.  It doesn’t even have anything to do with living green (although both those issues are addressed by their agenda).  Their agenda is animal rights, and let me tell you, they’ve got me pretty damn convinced.  As convinced as I think I ever will be, that’s for sure.  I’m not the kind who thinks its wrong to eat meat, but I do think its wrong how we produce meat and the amount we eat, and the authors just made those feelings larger and louder inside of me.  But if you are really, super duper opposed to vegetarianism or veganism, this book isn’t for  you.  Or maybe it is.  Maybe you need the info in this book so you can at least understand where vegetarians and vegans are coming from.  I don’t know.

Despite the alternative agenda, the book makes a lot of sense.  It says to give up processed sugar and simple carbohydrates (well duh), smoking (done and done!), beer (not bloody likely), dairy (more likely than beer, but that’s not saying much) and meat (more likely than dairy, but that’s not saying much either).  Even though I personally would advocate limiting meat and dairy, rather than eliminating entirely, they do make a good case for elimination and all the more power to you if you do it!

I’m a little skeptical of the fasting information still.  I don’t think fasting without solid food for more than a day is in any way physically beneficial.  Consult a doctor before jumping on that band wagon.

The book is a little harsh until the last chapter, which makes it all even more worth while.  After all the yelling and horrifying info in the book, that warm fuzzy in the last chapter was really needed. 

This book has really had an impact on my life, I think.  I went into it highly skeptical and came out really won over.  I would recommend it to anyone interested in vegetarianism or veganism, or anyone interested in the production of and effects of our food on ourselves, our children and our environment.

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Health and Diet, Living Green, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Review: Skinny Bitch

  1. Allie says:

    I’ve heard from a lot of people that they found the book really upsetting, but I think that’s b/c they were just expecting a diet book. I have a hard time getting on board with anything that’s too strict. I only eat chicken or fish a few times a week anyway. I don’t think I’m ready to give it up. If I didn’t have a wheat allergy, it would be easier.

  2. jessimonster says:

    I’m not ready to give meat up either, but the book did convince me to give up more meat than I had been planning. It also convinced me to start limiting dairy and eggs too.
    I can see how this book would be upsetting to some people. I wasn’t expecting such a blatant alterior motive either. I knew it discussed vegetarianism, but I didn’ t know much else about it. I read some other reviews on Amazon, and a lot of already vegans didn’t much care for it either, mainly because of the language used (if this book were a movie, it’d be rated R). Honestly, I thought the language sounded forced. As a Soldier and a veteran, I know just about all there is to know about cursing and foul language, and a lot of this book kind of sounded like a church girl trying to sound badass. There was one point when they said something “tastes so good your pubes will fall out”. Who says that?

  3. Michelle says:

    I also was sometimes irritated at their writing style but read it because it was rec’d to me. I actually got a lot out of it because at the time, a couple few months ago, we were starting down the vegan path. We have since almost reached it. My husband has been veggie for like 15 years so it wasn’t too much of a stretch. Although, When I first picked it up I tossed it when I saw it was written by an ex-model. It was a week or two before I picked it up again, just to cruise it before it was due back at he library and enjoyed it. There were a lot of interesting facts that I was unaware of, and I consider myself pretty well read at times.;)
    Also skeptical about fasting right now because I’m still nursing, although my husband does it frequently, is coming off a 3 day fast today actually.

  4. Missi says:

    Girl, we need to have a big old conversation about this stuff when you come into town, because I think that I need to read this book. Haha.

Leave a Reply

