Drill Weekend Post

I’m eating blackberries, and they are sour yummy!

We put an offer down on a house today.  I am happy with our decision.  Cross your fingers that they accept it.  I’m already mentally planning our garden, although we won’t really be able to plant much this year.  I can’t wait to start throwing parties!

I spend a lot of time thinking up subjects to blog about, mostly when I’m driving, but then I forget them when I get to work.  Elijah won’t let me blog when I’m at home.  Once he’s mobile he probably won’t want to be held so much, but right now …

Ah, here’s something for you single moms.  I’ve mentioned attachment parenting on this blog before.  While I think I prefer that “method” to others I’ve heard about, simply because the most of it is what I feel naturally inclined to do, I’m learning as I read some attachment parenting literature that I have to take a lot of it with a grain of salt.  The attachment parenting experts of the world don’t seem to have much consideration for single moms.  In fact, in one book I read it claimed that because I got pregnant in a bad relationship that there is going to be something wrong with my baby emotionally.  I’m sure there’s no intent to exclude or insult, but the author is clearly not considering the different circumstances people live and find themselves in.  Its not like I wanted to get pregnant in a bad situation, and I’m doing the best I can with what I’ve got now.  How about a little support?

I’m considering writing the author, care of the publisher.

People just forget about the single mom.  We really are totally neglected by society.  I would have killed for a pregnancy book in the style of What to Expect or The Pregnancy Bible, that didn’t mention “daddy” or “your partner” every other paragraph.  In my pregnancy journal, I crossed out all the places it said “daddy” and wrote “grammy” in.  And my mom spent a long time looking for a baby book for me that had the least mentions of daddy in it.  Now, eventually I found the book The Single Woman’s Guide to a Happy and Healthy Pregnancy, which was AWESOME and I highly recommend it to every single mom and single pregnant woman, but it didn’t fill all my needs, and from what I can tell its the only book of its kind on the market.

Maybe I should write these books I wanted to find.  What do you think?

Anyway, when it comes to attachment parenting, and any other parenting method, take what you need and forget the rest.  If something you read offends you, write to a publisher or author.  We’re never going to be recognized as a valid parenting force if we don’t start speaking up for ourselves, I suppose.

I think Elijah is teething.  He’s been drooly and chewy for about a month now, and then the last couple of days he’s been really fussy and a little feverish.  Tomorrow, my only day off this weekend, we’re just going to chill at home.  Just relax and do some laundry and maybe cuddle a little.  Maybe he’ll take a nap and let me clean or sew a little.  I doubt it, he never takes a nap unless I’m holding him, but maybe.

Cross your fingers for me.

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Babies and Kids, Crafting, Health and Diet, Living Green, Pregnancy, Single Mom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Drill Weekend Post

  1. jeffjeffbobeff says:

    I think you’re on to something with your idea to write the books that you can’t find. I was just thinking about the remarkably niche you’ve found in this blog. When I briefly researched what makes blogs good, a common peice of advice was to stick to a topic or theme and find your niche. This could be a great proving ground for your articles (chapters) as a source of feedback and as an instant marketing and support network. Get on it!

  2. jamilynnfitz says:

    I’m with jeffjeffbobeff. You could totally write a book. Stick to what you know best, and the readers of your niche will follow!

  3. Heather says:

    Did your mom find a baby book that does not mention daddy!?!?!?!? I want to know!

    Mine is sadly, a normal baby book and it’s sitting neglected. I haven’t ripped pages out or anything, I’m scared of it actually.

  4. jessimonster says:

    No, she didn’t find one. She picked the one she found with the least mention. The more I think about it, the more I think, “YES! I need to write these books!”
    I’m in several single mother support groups and forums with tons of women who would kill for these things.
    I wonder if my son’s pediatrician would co author with me? Or should I get an OBGYN? Or a midwife? I’ve never seen a What to Expect style book written by a midwife. Hmmm …
    You really should give your baby book a go. Kids love to look back at those things one day. You will too.

Leave a Reply

