100 out of 100 agree

I don’t know why “living green” is perceived as a partisan issue.  What’s so partisan about it?

When asked if they would like to drink a cup full of Raid bug killer, 100 out of 100 hundred Republicans and 100 out of 100 Democrats all said no.  The response was the same when I asked if they’d be willing to let their kids drink that cup full of Raid.

When asked if they’d like to give me, a complete stranger, 37 bucks, 100 out of 100 Republicans and 100 out of 100 Democrats all said no.  The response was the same when I pointed out some other random stranger to give the money to.

When asked if they’d like for me to come onto their property and leave a bunch of trash and shit all over, eat all their food, take all their expensive jewelry and mess up their furniture and electronics, 100 out of 100 Republicans and 100 out of 100 Democrats all said no.  The response was the same for those who rent.

So what’s the hold up?  Apparently, both Republicans and Democrats are unanimously opposed to ingesting poisons and toxins.  Apparently, both Republicans and Democrats are unanimously opposed to forking over their hard earned money to a stranger (especially given that they don’t have to, because there are other alternatives).  Apparently both Republican and Democrats are unanimously opposed to having their resources used up and their homes trashed.

So if the ultimate goal of the “green movement” is to reduce our exposure to toxins and poisons, save us money that would otherwise be going to line the pockets of oil and energy tycoons, and to keep the place where we live pleasant and productive, how in God’s name is this a partisan issue?

 

About Rockingthehomestead

Badass feminist environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Alternative Energy, Health and Diet, Living Green, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 100 out of 100 agree

  1. Brandy says:

    Hi Jessica – good post! Hey, I found you from a comment you left on the No Impact Man’s post today. I just moved to Denver last week and I’m looking for things like the urban farm you stated. Any info about things like that in the Denver area would be much appreciated! I just moved here from Chicago and it seems as if there was much more info about these types of things centrally located in Chicago – especially in Conscious Choice – a local free green magazine. Anyway, I’d love to chat with you about green things in Denver if you have the time! Brandy

  2. jessimonster says:

    Brandy! How can I write you back? I don’t want to post my email here, because apparently people besides my old friends are looking at it, and I don’t want every weirdo in the free world emailing me. If you have a myspace I’m http://www.myspace.com/akared, you can message me there. Or you can check out my membership on We, I started a group there, http://www.wecansolveit.org/page/group/SouthDenverWeGroup, feel free to join if you want. You can also look me up on Facebook. I’m going to try to find you on the No Impact Man blog and see if I can message you from there.

  3. jessimonster says:

    Now I feel stupid. Your email was in the message WordPress sends me to let me know I have a new comment. Duh.
    Now the whole free world knows my myspace page. I’m never on anyhow! Suckers!

  4. Meryn Stol says:

    Very well put. You should become a politician. But one of a good kind. 🙂

Leave a Reply

